Call Us: (802) 888-8888

Dr. Joseph McLaughlin Earns Additional Certification in Surgery of the Hand

December 12, 2016

Copley Hospital and Mansfield Orthopaedics are pleased to announce that orthopaedic surgeon Joseph (Joe) McLaughlin, MD has earned a Subspecialty Certificate in Surgery of the Hand. The certification, facilitated by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, is optional and demonstrates to his patients and our community that he has met Board Standards and has a good understanding of all areas of the hand. Dr. McLaughlin holds clinics in both Morrisville and Waterbury Mansfield Orthopaedics locations and performs surgery at Copley Hospital.

“This certification further validates Dr. McLaughlin’s expertise and knowledge – something Copley and Mansfield Orthopaedics are very proud of,” states Copley CEO Art Mathisen.

Dr. McLaughlin specializes in treating the hand, wrist, elbow and shoulder. He joined the Mansfield Orthopaedics practice in 2013 and is board certified through the American Board of Orthopedic Surgery.

To qualify, Dr. McLaughlin had to meet specific requirements. In addition to general certification and licensure, he needed to meet specific ethical and professional standards and have maintained an active practice of hand surgery for at least two years in the same location. He also had to have completed a year of an accredited fellowship in surgery of the hand and submit a list of cases managed during a consecutive 12 month period in at least six of nine categories.

Mansfield Orthopaedics, a practice of Copley Hospital, creates a compassionate and efficient system of care, providing comprehensive orthopedic evaluation, treatment and rehabilitation. Services provided include Joint Replacement, Arthritis Care, Arthoscopic Surgery, Hand, Ankle and Foot Surgery, Sports Medicine and Fracture and Trauma Care. Surgeons and providers work closely with their patients to ensure better outcomes. Surgeons at the practice include Nicholas Antell, MD; Brian Aros, MD; Bryan Huber, MD; Joseph McLaughlin, MD; John Macy, MD; and Saul Trevino, MD.