Call Us: (802) 888-8888

Chaplain Alden Launer Named Employee of the Year

May 17, 2018

Four Copley Employees Honored for Excellence

CEO Art Mathisen with Chaplain Alden Launer, Copley Hospital's Employee of the Year
Chaplain Alden Launer was named Copley Hospital’s Employee of the Year.

Kelly Langston, RN,   John Kaeding, MD, and James Wills Also Recognized for Excellence

Morrisville, VT…May 15th was an evening of honoring excellent service to our community with the theme “Community – We can’t build a healthy community without u!”  Chaplain Alden Launer received a standing ovation when named Copley Hospital’s Employee of the Year for his outstanding service to patients, community members and employees. He was honored at the hospital’s annual Service Awards Banquet.  The Copley Hospital Medical Staff recognized excellence by honoring registered nurse Kelly Langson with the Edward French Memorial Award, and James Wills, a surgical supply coordinator, with the Goddard Family Award. UNAP Local 5091 honored John Kaeding, MD with the Russel Page, MD Award. In addition, nearly 60 employees were recognized for their milestone years of service at the hospital.

Theme for the night
Our theme: Community – We can’t build a healthier community without u!

“The quality care and compassion our staff provides gives our patients and their families comfort knowing they can seek great health care close to home,” said Art Mathisen, CEO of Copley Hospital, in his opening remarks.
Staff input drives the Employee of the Year Award, much like a people’s choice award.  Copley employees submit nominations for a colleague they feel is most deserving of the recognition.  This year’s winner, seventeen-year veteran Chaplain Alden Launer, is described by his colleagues as a one of a kind – Copley’s gem.  “The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in others and Alden clearly does this as he always puts others first,” said Mathisen. “His contributions to our patients, their families, staff and community go beyond his work as a Chaplain.  On any given day he can be comforting a family as they struggle with a recent death in the family, provide support to an employee who is dealing with a devastating diagnosis, making plans to officiate a marriage, or sitting with an elderly patient.”


Kelly Langston, RN was honored. Kelly is pictured with Dr. Donald Dupuis and CEO Art Mathisen.

General Surgeon and co-Chief Medical Officer Don Dupuis, MD presented the Edward French and Goddard Family Awards.  The Edward FrenchAward, an award that recognizes nursing excellence, was presented to Kelly Langston, RN of Surgical Services. Langston has been a key member of the OR team since 2014.  Dr. Dupuis commented that she “is committed to professionalism, takes ownership and is always looking for ways to improve.  Her attention to details makes others want to do better.”   The award honors Edward French, MD, a general practitioner that served our community from 1935 until his retirement in 1985.


James Wills was honored with the Goddad Family Award.

The Goddard Family Award recognizes excellence in a non-nursing position.  Dr. Dupuis commended James Wills for his commitment to the Surgical Center.  “James keeps the OR running. He’s completely indispensable and hardworking. James takes ownership of his role and is always finding ways to improve efficiency,” said Dupuis. The award recognizes the Goddard Family of physicians, including Anthony Goddard, MD that served as our first President of the Medical Staff when the hospital opened in 1932; his sons Phillip and Glendon, a surgeon and a general practitioner; and Phillip’s son, Phillip Goddard, Jr. who served as a general surgeon at Copley Hospital from 1970-1994.



John Kaeding, MD was honored with the inaugural Russel S. Page, MD Award.

UNAP Local 5091 President Andrew Duff, RN was joined by Dorothy Cook, RN to present the inaugural Russel S. Page, MD Award to John Kaeding, MD. In presenting the award, Duff described Dr. Kaeding as a physician who exemplifies how emergency medicine should be practiced. “Dr. Kaeding is very caring, gentle, and calming to his patients, especially with his pediatric patients,” said Duff.  Duff shared that as Dr. Kaeding prepares to give stitches to a child, he engages the child with a story in his calm, deep voice. “He starts with ‘You remember that old brown dog of mine, well he went off….’ and before you know it the stitches are done and the child is completely engrossed in the story.” The award honors Emergency Services physician Russel Page (1944-2012) who was known equally for being a solid practitioner, steady under pressure, and a kind, fun person. Dr. Kaeding, now working fewer hours to enjoy semi-retirement, began his career at Copley in 1977 working alongside of Dr. Page.


During the event, Copley also recognized and thanked employees for their years of service. The following individuals were recognized:

Recognized for 5 years of service: Mark Bergin, Brian Gosselin, Elizabeth Karasinski, Michelle MacDonald, John Macy, MD, and Thadd Shedd.

5 Years of Service:  Mark Bergin, Ann Boyea, Brennen, Shauneen Brannen-Ward, Jessica Cullity, Michelle Delancey, Jonathan Fasciana, Elizabeth Fox, Brian Gosselin, Brittany Hay, Melissa Hay, Elizabeth Karasinski, Michelle MacDonald, John Macy, MD, Katherine Mazer, Joseph McLaughlin, MD, Gregory

McLelland, Peter Shaw, Thad Shedd, Ashley Whalen and Daisy Williams.


Recognized for 10 years of service: Marena Youngs, Angela Griggs, Leah Hollenberger and Ana McAllister.

10 Years of Service: Shirley Fitzgerald, Cathlene Graves, Angela Griggs, Shannon Hewett, Leah Hollenberger, Amy Kimball, Tracie Leach, Jeffrey Lewis, Megan Marquissee, Ana McAllister, Kelley Mercier, Jennifer Piette, Frederick Wells and Marena Youngs.


Recognized for 15 years of service: Sue Sullivan, Bonnie Strong, Lisa Paskerian, and Meredith McGee.

15 Years of Service:  Suzanne Granger, Heather Griggs, Jeffrey Limoge, Meredith McGee, Lisa Paskerian, Bonnie Strong, Susanne Sullivan and Daniel Wolfson, MD.


Honored for 20 years of service: Steven Hemenway, Cindy French, and Peggy Walker.

20 Years of Service: Pamela Byrne, Cindy French, Steven Hemenway, Kay Johnson, Gale Martin, Robert Moeck, Steffany Mosley, Geralyn Roscoe and Margaret Walker.



Honored for 25 years of service: Carol Brooks and Penny Paquette.

25 Years of Service: Carol Brooks, Tammy Lurvey and Penny Paquette



Dorothy Cook, RN was honored for 45 years of service!

30 Years of Service: Annette Jones and Susan Lucas


45 Years of Service: Dorothy Cook


Copley is proud of the commitment and quality of its staff – people helping people,  in the true spirit of a community hospital.